Stop Google caching a site while you're working on it
Google look at all the webpages they find online. As each one is found they take a snapshot of it to use as a backup in case the live page isn't available. This can be an issue if your site is indexed and cached before you finish building it, because the public may find half-finished pages in Googleβs cache.
To prevent access to site content whilst you are building a site, add a site-wide password and then customise the lock screen.
When you add a site-wide password before you add content it tells search engines not to index your site.
If youβre hiding your site after itβs been active, setting a password will prevent search engines from indexing it further. Any content that search engines have indexed before you added the password will still appear in search results, but links to the pages will send visitors to the lock screen.